Author: Bryan Spellman

Clicking on the arrows below will show you the photographs full frame. You can also click below to order the book for yourself.

Tagged with: , , ,

The Creation of Jefferson County, Washington Of the four counties the Oregon Territorial Legislature created on December 22nd, 1852, the westernmost was Jefferson. At the time of its creation, Jefferson County covered the northern end of the Olympic Peninsula. As

Tagged with: , , ,

King County History and Namesake(s) The Creation of King County The Oregon Territorial Legislature created four counties around Puget Sound on December 22nd, 1852, paying little attention to population. Today, Seattle is the most populous city in the state and

Tagged with: , , , ,

December 22nd, 1852 saw four new counties created in what was still Oregon Territory, all around Puget Sound. Because I have not been able to find out the order in which these four counties were signed into law, I will

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

As more settlers moved north of the Columbia, the Oregon Territorial Legislature felt the need to provide increased governmental services, especially around the Puget Sound area. On January 12th, 1852, the Legislature created Thurston County with land taken mostly from

In 1851, the Oregon Territorial Legislature created its first new county north of the Columbia River when it took the southwestern corner of Lewis County to form Pacific County, named, of course, for the Pacific Ocean that marks its western

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

Established by the Oregon Provisional Government on December 19th, 1845, Lewis County originally covered all the territory north of the Cowlitz River and west of a north-south straight line drawn roughly through the Cascade Mountains.  In other words, it took

Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Depending on how you define “county creation,” Clark County, Washington’s first, was created on June 27th, 1844, or perhaps August 20th, 1845, or even September 3rd, 1849.  In 1844, the Provisional Government of Oregon decreed that henceforth, all land north

Tagged with: , , , ,

  The southeastern-most county in Washington State, Asotin County came into being in 1883 when the eastern portion of Garfield County was partitioned.  With an area of 636 square miles, the County is one of the smaller of Washington’s thirty-nine

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

    Named for Presbyterian Missionary Marcus Whitman, killed by the Cayuse Indians in 1847, Whitman County was formed with land taken from Stevens County in 1871.  In 1883, Whitman County gave up land to form Adams, Franklin and Lincoln

Tagged with: , , , , ,